The Insurance Institute of Kentucky is a non-profit corporation dedicated to educating, supporting, and assisting the Kentucky insurance consumer, market, and industry.

Join the IIK

Amicus Briefs

From time to time, IIK will file an amicus curiae (friend of the court) brief in cases which could have an impact on insurance law in Kentucky. We have developed a set of procedures for the filing of amicus curiae briefs in cases which merit IIK involvement and we have set aside funds for that purpose.

Members or other interested parties who would like to propose a case may do so by sending an application to us at

The application form and the memorandum outlining the policies and procedures for filing amicus briefs as approved by IIK membership are shown below:


IIK and Eastern Kentucky University’s Risk Management and Insurance Program for the past several years have collaborated in offering CLE/CE seminars for attorneys and claims professionals. We tentatively plan to do so again in 2017, and we will announce topics and dates when they are finalized later. Please feel free to contact Executive Director Mark Treesh if you would like to be placed on the mailing list for future seminars.

Insurance 101

IIK has produced a program containing information on the basics of insurance as well as a brief look at some key issues that affect insurance consumers. This program, called Insurance 101, has been distributed on a flash drive which is available free of charge upon request. Just click here to ask for one.

Insurance 101

Insurance 101 is also available here on the website. Just click here to take a quick tour.

IIK News

EKU Paper Competition

IIK sponsored a scholarship completion for Eastern Kentucky University students who submitted a paper on a topic related to property and casualty or life insurance.  The scholarship award winner was announced at EKU on April 27, 2017. In the picture above are IIK Executive Director Mark Treesh and 1st place winner Sarah Smith.

The winning paper may be seen here:

1st Place – $1,000 scholarship:  “Pet Insurance” by Sarah Smith

Results from prior competitions can be seen at the links for 20162015, 2014, and 2013.